2018 Summer Program Information

IMPORTANT DATES

Thursday, March 15

Application and $40 non-refundable application fee due
($50 for late applications)

Sunday, April 15 Video audition submissions due. View instructions
Tuesday, May 15 Confirmation of attendance and non-refundable partial tuition of $500 due
Full tuition of $1,500 may also be paid on this date.
Friday, June 15 Tuition balance due for those who choose the partial payment plan
Sunday, June 24
1:30 – 5:30 PM
Parents’ meeting and coaching sessions
Monday, July 2
9:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Coaching and masterclass
Thursday, July 5 (afternoon) – Monday, July 9 (evening)
Franklin Pond Retreat at University of North Georgia, Dahlonega, GA
Thursday, July 12
9:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Session
Monday, July 16
9:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Session
Monday, July 23
9:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Session
Tuesday, July 24 –
Friday, July 27
Scheduled outreach concert(s) for each group
Saturday, July 28
9:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Session
Sunday, July 29 Summer Finale Concert
  • Four to five student chamber groups will be formed by audition and each group will be required to rehearse together for a minimum of 4 hours per week between sessions. The success of this program depends entirely upon the commitment of all the students and parents involved. Pre-existing groups may apply and audition as a group.
  • EVERY participant must attend all sessions for the full day and must attend the retreat.
  • The first session of Franklin Pond Chamber Music and the parents’ meeting will take place on Sunday, June 24, 1:30 – 5:30 PM
  • Thereafter, sessions will take place on the following dates: July 12, 16, 23, and 28 from 9:30 AM – 5:00 PM
  • All students will participate in a retreat July 5 – 9 at University of North Georgia in Dahlonega.
  • Between July 24 – 27, each group will perform one or two outreach concerts in the community, to be scheduled.
  • Summer Finale concert is Sunday, July 29 at 3:00 PM.
  • *Full tuition, including the retreat, is $1,500. Scholarships are available with audition and teacher recommendation. If you are willing to make this commitment, please complete the application online and remit the $40 non-refundable deposit via PayPal or mail the application and fee to: Franklin Pond Chamber Music • 4835 Franklin Pond Road Atlanta, GA 30342.
AUDITION REQUIREMENTS

One movement of unaccompanied Bach

One movement of a concerto or piece of your choice

Required excerpts from the string quartet literature

Sight-reading

Download 2018 Summer Program Information